Paul Anthony Associates Book Blog Tour

winterSt. Basils, Moscow
Welcome to the Espionage and Crime Thriller Blog Tour: A group of authors entertaining their readers with some thrilling tales of criminality and spying, and tales of political intrigues, corruption and espionage. Let’s find out what they are up to at the moment. The Spymaster wants to ask some questions. Indeed, they’ve all been asked the same questions as they introduce themselves and their work. So, let’s hear what they have to say. First up is Kenneth J. Kerr.
Kenneth J. Kerr
Q. Whereabouts do you live, Kenneth?
A. My wife and I live on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA and during the summer months live on Lake Charlevoix, Michigan.

Q. Would you describe yourself as a full time writer or do you have another job?
A. I am seventy years old, and have been retired from full time work for many years. When I am writing, it is a full time job. For example, when I wrote ‘Life of a Double Agent’ I made a commitment to myself that I would work six days a week, and write a minimum of two typewritten pages per day. Now I am spending all my time on sales and marketing activities for the book.

Q. How do you spend your leisure time?
A. Reading, watching too much TV, golf, duplicate bridge, fishing, kayaking, boating, and spending time with friends.

Q. Do you have any particular hobbies or interests?
A. Duplicate bridge probably qualifies as a hobby or interest. I started playing bridge in college but just played social bridge until I retired. After moving to Hilton Head, I ventured into the world of duplicate bridge. Hilton Head has an excellent bridge club where you can play a game at least once every day except Sunday, and some days they have a day game and an evening game. They also offer bridge lessons. I began playing about ten years ago, became a Life Master after three years, and I am now a Silver Life Master. It is a great game, keeps the mind alive, and is relatively cheap entertainment.

Q. Name three people you would like to entertain for dinner and why?
A. Retired General David Petraeus, Bill Gates, Benjamin Netanyahu Why, because they are brilliant men and I would enjoy hearing their perspective on the many world problems.

Q. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
A. I have been very fortunate to travel extensively all over the world, and have also lived in Hong Kong, Japan, Vietnam, and Russia. There are great experiences wherever you live, but nowhere compares to living in the U.S. When I retired, my wife and I could have chosen anywhere to live. We chose Hilton Head Island, South Carolina and we have been very happy with the decision.

Q. If you had one wish, what would it be?
A. I wish the world were a safer place, and that all people could live in harmony, showing respect for others, regardless of the differences (political, religious, race, etc.), and with the freedom to pursue their dreams.

Q. Describe yourself using only three words.
A. Thinker, quiet, caring

Q. What is the difference between an espionage thriller and a crime thriller?
A. They are similar in that they both create an exciting read. The obvious differences to me are a crime thriller has good guys (police, FBI, etc.) and bad guys (criminals, people who break the law) and an espionage thriller is usually good guys (spies for the good country) and bad guys (another country, or spies for another country).

Q. Are you currently published or do you have a ‘work in action’ you can tell us about?
A. I am self-published, using Xlibris as my publisher. I completed my first book in early 2013, and it was officially published March 28, 2013. It is a fictional novel, ‘Life of a Double Agent’

Q. Tell us about your work and what influenced you to write in this exciting genre?
 cropped-131335_cover1-e1371728209840.jpg A. Life of a Double Agent’ is an espionage thriller but also sort of a biography of a fictional man who spends almost forty years as a double agent, working for the CIA and the Chinese Ministry of State Security. To make his life more complicated, he is also a successful international businessman while conducting his espionage activities. He closes out his spy career in Russia while working as a Peace Corps volunteer. He must find a way to shut down Russia’s last secret nuclear reactor producing weapons grade plutonium.

What influenced me to write in this genre? First, I enjoy reading espionage thrillers and crime thrillers. Second, my own personal experience as a Peace Corps volunteer in Russia was a spark that created the idea for the book. I was not a spy, but I was expelled from Russia after my first year of volunteer service. Many of my friends teased me with the accusation that I was working for the CIA while I was in Russia. I took that idea and created ‘Life of a Double Agent’

Q. Do you have a particular character that figures consistently or are you in the stage of developing a lead character?
A. Jim Hunt is the lead character in ‘Life of a Double Agent’. I could go back to other episodes in his spy career to create other books using Jim as the lead character. But, I am also considering moving on to a new lead character, possible his daughter, who follows in his footsteps.

Q. As a writer, what is the most difficult obstacle to overcome?
A. I would not call it an obstacle, rather a challenge. For me it is keeping the threads of multiple stories moving through the book at the same time. I found that my writing style includes rewriting segments of the story when other, better ideas emerge. Over the time period of several months of writing, when several story changes have been made, it is hard to remember all the details that are in the book and which details got removed during rewriting. The longer the writing period the bigger challenge this becomes.

Q. Where can we find out more about your work?
A. ‘Life of a Double Agent’ is available in all e-book formats, paperback, and hardcover. The following are the places you can purchase a copy.
http://www.lifeofadoubleagent.com all e-book formats, paperback, and hardcover.
Amazon.com http://tinyurl.com/bv9u3pz

Barnes and Noble.com http://bit.ly/12uR8SM

Xlibris.com http://tinyurl.com/pctrfoc

And to purchase an autographed copy directly from the author contact him through the website http://www.lifeofadoubleagent.com

Q. And where can we follow and support you on social media sites?
A. Find me at the following social media sites:

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/lifeofadoubleagent
Twitter @kkerr19963
Blog https://kkerr19963.wordpress.com
LinkedIn http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kenneth-kerr/69/540/b15?trk=tbr
Website http://www.lifeofadoubleagent.com
Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/18863255-kenneth-kerr

Independent Author Network http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/kenneth-kerr.html

Q. The Spymaster thanks you for taking part in this interview Kenneth and wishes you good luck with your writing in the years ahead.
A. Thank you. Can I invite you to meet my friends in this wonderful world of writing? Just click on the names below and you’ll find yourself reading a different set of answers to the same questions. Please support my friends and fellow authors by visiting their sites and checking out their contribution. Thank you for joining me on my blog tour.

James Bruno http://jameslbruno.blogspot.com/2013/10/thriller-writers-blog-tour.html

Tom Reinhart http://www.TomReinhart.com

Dan Pollock http://danpollock.blogspot.com/p/espionage-blog-tour.html

Kenneth Boehs http://kenboehs/espionage-blog-tour/

Khalid Muhammad http://agencyrules.com/paul-anthony-associates-blog-tour/

Paul Anthony http://paulanthonys.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/the-espionage-and-crime-thriller-blog.html

About kkerr19963

Author who published his first book, "Life of a Double Agent" in 2013 and his second book, 'The First Madam President (and the dirty bombs)' in May 2014
This entry was posted in From the Author and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paul Anthony Associates Book Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Paul Anthony Associates Book Blog Tour | Tom Reinhart

  2. Pingback: Paul Anthony Associates Christmas Book Blog Tour | Ceri London

  3. Pingback: Paul Anthony Associates Blog Tour | Agency Rules – It's Never an Easy Day at the Office

Leave a Reply

