Fact or Fiction

I have been overwhelmed by the questions from prospective book buyers about whether or not the book is the life story of the author. Clearly more than half of the people I talk to about the book ask me if it is my life story. My standard answer is “no, it is fiction.” Almost everyone gives me a skeptical, wry smile and some kind of comment questioning my answer.

I guess I should have anticipated this reaction, but at first I didn’t. Now my thoughts on the subject have evolved. I wrote the book primarily for entertainment. It was entertaining for me during the writing experience, and I hope it will be entertaining for those who choose to read the book. If some people get an enhanced entertainment experience by believing the book is true and about the author, so be it. I have accomplished my objective, because they have enjoyed the reading experience. Hopefully those who read it as a fictional novel will also enjoy the reading experience and find it entertaining.

One of the challenges of writing a fictional novel is doing it in a way that makes the story believable, a story that could have really happened. I believe that is the objective of many writers. Certainly, it was my objective.

So my answer now, to those who inquire if the book is about the life story of the author, is “no, it is a work of fiction. But please buy the book and read it for your enjoyment. I hope you find it entertaining, and if you choose to look at the story as true, that is ok with me. All I want is for you to be entertained while reading the book.”

http://www.lifeofadoubleagent.com

About kkerr19963

Author who published his first book, "Life of a Double Agent" in 2013 and his second book, 'The First Madam President (and the dirty bombs)' in May 2014
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, website, Why and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

